Teacher Training: Guitar Units

The Atlanta Suzuki Institute is thrilled to offer teacher training opportunities with renowned SAA Teacher Trainers from across the United States. ASI is the perfect place to learn about the Suzuki approach and philosophy for the first time, or to hone and expand your teaching skills. All teacher training courses will be held online in 2021. 

 

Teachers enrolled in training must be at least 17 years old, have a high school diploma, and be an active member of the SAA. Teachers may enroll as participants or auditors. To qualify as a participant, teachers must pass an audition submitted to the SAA. Participants who successfully complete a course will have the training registered with the SAA. Auditions are not required for auditors, nor will training be registered with the SAA.

Cannon_Andrea.jpg

Guitar Unit One

April 15-18 and April 22-25, 2021

Online Course

The Guitar Unit 1 course is the first of the core training units for the Suzuki Method. The course will focus on Suzuki Guitar Book 1 repertoire and technique, and will also serve as a review of the Suzuki philosophy, introduction to parent education, beginning instrumental set-up, considerations to opening a Suzuki studio, cultivation of the Suzuki Triangle, development of listening skills, pre-reading skills, issues related to home practice, and other skills relevant to the Suzuki approach. Trainees should expect to perform the Guitar Book 1 repertoire, participate in group discussions, and complete assignments as given by the teacher trainer. 

Format of the course includes lecture (28 hours) and student observation (15 hours). Suzuki teachers who have completed/registered Every Child Can! are eligible to take the course. Auditors are permitted in the Unit 1 course. Maximum enrollment: 10 participants. 

Guitar Unit 1 Course Schedule: 

  • Thursdays, April 15 & 22, 5:00-8:30 PM EDT (4:00-7:30 PM CDT)

  • Fridays, April 16 & 23, 10:00 AM-1:30 PM EDT (9:00 AM-12:30 PM CDT)

  • Saturdays, April 17 & 24, 10:00 AM-1:30 PM EDT (9:00 AM-12:30 PM CDT)

  • Sundays, April 18 & 25, 10:00 AM-1:30 PM EDT (9:00 AM-12:30 PM CDT)

Observations of Andrea Cannon's home studio will take place between 3:00-8:00 PM EDT (2:00-7:00 PM CDT) Friday- Sunday both weeks. 

The Guitar Unit 1  course fee is $765. A $100 non-refundable deposit is due within 7 days of registration and will be applied toward the course fee. Refunds (less the $100 deposit) are available until 30 days before the course begins. 

Guitar Unit 1 Course Fee: $765

Register Now!